Project Management Scholars Receive 2018 PMI Academic Awards

From the The Critical Path Blog
by , , , ,
Welcome to The Critical Path--the home for community happenings and events on! This is where you'll find community news, updates, upcoming events, featured member posts and more. We'll also be showcasing hot topics in the project management arena and bringing you interviews with industry experts. The Critical Path is our primary way of getting news out to members, so be sure to check back for updates!

About this Blog


View Posts By:

Marjorie Anderson
Kristin Jones
Danielle Ritter
Kimberly Whitby
Laura Schofield

Past Contributers:

Carrie Dunn
Kenneth A. Asbury
Craig Dalrymple
Rebecca Braglio

Recent Posts

What’s Buzzing in the PMI Community?

June Community News You Can Use

Careers Start at PMI’s Career Center

New Community Offerings Coming Your Way!

Help Guide Your Community Correspondents at PMI EMEA Congress!

Categories: education

Professor Avraham Shtub of Technion Israel Institute of Technology receives the 2018 PMI Teaching Excellence Award from PMI Academic Programs Manager Heather Ramsey at a presentation at the EURAM Conference in Reykjavik, Iceland, on 21 June.

Dr. Mark Keil of Georgia State University with PMI Academic Programs Manager Heather Ramsey. Dr. Keil received the 2018 PMI Research Achievement Award at a presentation at the EURAM Conference in Reykjavik, Iceland, on 21 June.

On 21 June, three members of the project management academic community were honored for their contributions to education and research. These international scholars and teachers accepted PMI Academic Awards during a ceremony in Reykjavik, Iceland, at the 2018 EURAM Conference at the University of Iceland.

The PMI Teaching Excellence Award recognizes and honors an individual faculty member for excellence in teaching project management, and for their strong commitment to improving and enhancing project management curricula in higher education. The 2018 Teaching Excellence Award recipient is Professor Avraham Shtub, PhD, PMP, Head of the Project Management Research Center, and Stephen and Sharon Seiden Professor of Project Management at Technion Israel Institute of Technology.

Prof. Shtub teaches project management, integrating traditional lectures and textbooks with advanced methodologies at several leading universities around the world. He has also developed a new curriculum for teaching project management; it is based on the flipped classroom approach and simulation-based training, and uses the award-winning Project Team Builder, a project management training simulator that Prof. Shtub and his team developed. He has tested this new curriculum in a controlled study with positive results, and recently published a book on this engaging new approach.

Professor Ofer Zwaikel, PhD, PMP, who nominated Prof. Shtub for the award, praised him for his engaging style, use of rich content, and sharing of anecdotes and observations from his professional experience. "Prof. Shtub’s teaching philosophy is to integrate traditional lectures and textbooks with advanced methodologies,” Prof. Zwaikel explained. Further, the results of the research on Prof. Shtub’s curriculum “indicate that the integration of the flipped classroom concept with simulation based training has a strong positive effect on the students compared to traditional teaching based on lectures and textbooks.”

The Project Management Journal Paper of the Year Award recognizes the best paper published in the Project Management Journal in the previous year. The winning paper was “The Multivocality of Symbols: A Longitudinal Study of the Symbolic Dimensions of the High-Speed Train Megaproject (1995-2015)” (Dec. 2017/Jan. 2018) by Prof. Dr. Alfons van Marrewijk. The paper provides an anthropological look at megaprojects as symbols in society, with a focus on the Dutch High-speed train megaproject.

“The paper depicts how megaprojects are used as symbols for strategic and political reasons and how they cause issues and power struggles,” explained Dr. Ralf Müller, co-Editor in Chief of the Project Management Journal. “The paper provided new insights into megaprojects as cultural and societal phenomena and the implications stemming from different perceptions of megaprojects by different stakeholder groups.”

Prof. Dr. van Marrewijk is Professor of Business Anthropology at the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands. After beginning his career as a project manager, he moved to the field of anthropology as an academic. Today he integrates both of these fields, researching project management through an anthropological lens.

The PMI Research Achievement Award recognizes individuals whose work has significantly advanced the concepts, knowledge, and practices of project management through a published body of academic research. The 2018 Research Achievement Award was presented to Dr. Mark Keil, Distinguished University Professor and John B. Zellars Professor of Computer Information Systems at Georgia State University.

Dr. Keil has been conducting research on information technology project management for over 26 years. With more than 17,000 citations on Google Scholar, he was the most cited researcher for IT project management. “Dr. Keil is world-renowned for his work on escalation of commitment in IT projects - the continued commitment to a failing course of action despite negative feedback,” said Maheshwar Boodraj, PMP, Past President of the PMI Jamaica Chapter, who nominated Dr. Keil for the award. “His research has both illuminated our understanding of the causes of escalation of commitment and provided practical advice on how to de-escalate troubled IT projects. He has also made significant contributions to the literature on project status and bad news reporting and managing project risks.”

In addition to his prolific research career, Dr. Keil generously shares his knowledge in the classroom, having taught at the bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral levels. He has also published a number of teaching cases, and has received multiple awards from Georgia State University for his achievements in scholarship, teaching, and service.

The PMI David I. Cleland Project Management Literature Award recognizes the author(s) of a published book that significantly advances project management knowledge, concepts, and practice. The 2018 Cleland Award will be announced on 6 October 2018 at the PMI Awards Gala during the 2018 PMI Global Conference in Los Angeles, California.

Congratulations to these 2018 PMI Academic Award winners! The call for nominations for 2019 PMI Academic Awards will open on 1 November 2018. Find more information and submissions guidelines at

Posted by Kimberly Whitby on: July 26, 2018 06:34 PM | Permalink

Comments (8)

Please login or join to subscribe to this item
Congrats to all.

Thanks a lot for sharing this Kimberly, very good info.

Are you going to share another one related to individuals awards like I recall there are other awards for Best PM and so on. Can you shed a light on those please.

Hello Rami - Yes, indeed, they will be posted after NA Global Conference in October. Thanks!

Thank you Kimberly, I look forward for the updates.

Congratulations to winner.
Thanks for sharing Kimberly !!

Congratulations to all the award recipients

Please Login/Register to leave a comment.


Whenever you are asked if you can do a job, tell 'em, "Certainly, I can!" Then get busy and find out how to do it.

- Theodore Roosevelt