PMI Academic Awards: Call for Nominations Open

From the The Critical Path Blog
by , ,
Welcome to The Critical Path--the home for community happenings and events on! This is where you'll find community news, updates, upcoming events, featured member posts and more. We'll also be showcasing hot topics in the project management arena and bringing you interviews with industry experts. The Critical Path is our primary way of getting news out to members, so be sure to check back for updates!

About this Blog


View Posts By:

Marjorie Anderson
Kimberly Whitby
Laura Schofield

Past Contributers:

Carrie Dunn
Danielle Ritter
Kenneth A. Asbury
Craig Dalrymple
Rebecca Braglio
Kristin Jones

Recent Posts

August Community News You Can Use

A Systems Approach to Project Management

NEW Discussion Thread for Construction Industry Posted!

The Continuing Evolution of the PMBOK® Guide

Next Set of Community Offerings Are Here!

The annual PMI Academic Awards recognize and honor outstanding members of the profession who contribute in exemplary ways to research, teaching, literature, and practice in project management and related professions.

You can nominate your colleagues now for the 2019 Awards! The call for nominations is open from 1 November 2018 through 1 March 2019. You can nominate your colleagues for the following awards:

PMI Research Achievement Award

The PMI Research Achievement Award recognizes and honors an individual or group of individuals whose work has significantly advanced the concepts, knowledge, and practices of project management through a published body of academic research.

PMI Scholar-Practitioner Award

The PMI Scholar-Practitioner Award recognizes and honors either an academic or a practitioner for excellence in contributing to both research and practice by conducting academic research and adapting research findings to practice.

PMI Linn Stuckenbruck Teaching Excellence Award

The PMI Linn Stuckenbruck Teaching Excellence Award recognizes and honors an individual faculty member for excellence in teaching project management, and/or for their strong commitment to improving and enhancing project management curricula in higher education. 

2019 is the first year that the Teaching Excellence Award is named for Dr. Stuckenbruck, who served as Secretary on the PMI Board of Directors and received the Distinguished Service Award in 1980. He contributed to management and technical journals, wrote chapters for five published books, and presented papers at many professional society meetings. He also authored books and handbooks, including The Implementation of Project Management: The Professional's Handbook. He also prepared the Index of PMI Papers as published in the Proceedings of the Annual PMI Seminars/Symposia and in the Project Management Journal® 1969-84.

PMI David I. Cleland Project Management Literature Award

The PMI David I. Cleland Project Management Literature Award recognizes the author(s) of a published book that significantly advances project management knowledge, concepts, and practice.

For more information and submission guidelines for the 2019 PMI Academic Awards, visit or email


Posted by Kimberly Whitby on: October 31, 2018 04:03 PM | Permalink

Comments (9)

Please login or join to subscribe to this item
Cool awards, especially the Scholar-Practitioner Award.

Thanks for sharing, Kimberly

Thanks for sharing this information!

Thanks for the info Kimberly.... I'll be better next year. :(

This is great to know. I have been following few practitioners for long time and benefited with their research articles, white papers, and timely needed coaching. Much honored to nominate them.

Thanks Kimberly! :)

Thanks Kimberly. Many of our colleagues in this area deserve the PMI academic Award.
I already sympathize (:-) with the selection committee for this award. It will have a great deal of responsibility and a difficult mission.

Please Login/Register to leave a comment.