Thu, 11 Aug 2022 12:20:55 GMT Strategic Project Management https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blogs/255026/strategic-project-management As an "accidental" project manager, it's very satisfying to contribute to the project management community online with anectdotes and stories I've picked up from my own experience. I hope you enjoy our daily conversation. Tell Me You're Going to Get This Done https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/5920/tell-me-you-re-going-to-get-this-done Mon, 17 Sep 2012 21:50:36 GMT A friend of mine told me about a recent conversation he had with the boss. Due to circumstances beyond his control, the timetable for major a project originally slated to be completed by this time next year has been truncated to a due date some time in November. It seems someone on the executive tea... Quiting Isn't Easy if You Never Do It https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/5731/quiting-isn-t-easy-if-you-never-do-it Tue, 07 Aug 2012 12:53:03 GMT Being the Olympics junkie I am, I spent part of my afternoon watching the US Women's Volleyball team play a team of very talented athletes from Turkey. "To me one of the important characteristics of a great team is how they perform when there is nothing on the line," U.S. Olympic Women... Getting in the Way of Peak Performance https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/5709/getting-in-the-way-of-peak-performance Thu, 02 Aug 2012 13:12:44 GMT "[T]here have been doping scandals, bribery scandals and officiating scandals, many of them fully emerging only years after the fact," writes Ken Belson for the New York Times. "The latest Olympic scandal—involving shuttlecocks and dumped badminton matches—was pretty much ... The Agony of Defeat? https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/5697/the-agony-of-defeat- Tue, 31 Jul 2012 12:52:05 GMT Like most everyone I know, I spent my Sunday afternoon watching the Olympics. I was a swimmer in high school and like most people in the U.S., I've been watching Michael Phelps and the U.S. Swim Team. On Sunday night, I watched the men's relay team's loss to France. It was an exciting ra... Nobody Likes Being the Heavy https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/5686/nobody-likes-being-the-heavy Fri, 27 Jul 2012 13:02:31 GMT I was speaking with a friend of mine recently who had just finished a really hard day. "Nobody likes me," she said. "I'm trying to keep an important project on track and it feels like everyone is avoiding me." I think we've all experienced days like that. There are ti... The Value of Building the Right Team https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/5674/the-value-of-building-the-right-team Tue, 24 Jul 2012 13:02:24 GMT A team is more than simply a collection of individuals working on the same project—or at least it should be. I once worked with a fellow who processed information very differently than I did. We were contributors on the same team, but we would often "discuss" our differences in a... The Value of Building the Right Team https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/5673/the-value-of-building-the-right-team Tue, 24 Jul 2012 13:00:27 GMT A team is more than simply a collection of individuals working on the same project—or at least it should be. I once worked with a fellow who processed information very differently than I did. We were contributors on the same team, but we would often "discuss" our differences in a... Working More, Enjoying it Less? https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/5563/working-more--enjoying-it-less- Fri, 22 Jun 2012 15:30:51 GMT The economic downturn we’ve experienced for the last few years is taking its toll on the workforce. Whether you work in a project environment or not, "Businesses expect a lot more out of their employees these day…" writes Anne Kadet for the Wall Street Journal. In her article,... Simple Doesn't Mean Un-Important https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/5558/simple-doesn-t-mean-un-important Thu, 21 Jun 2012 14:49:08 GMT My daughter lives downtown—about twenty or so minutes away from where my wife and I live in the suburbs. We decided to stop by for a visit. It was the perfect weather for a short bike ride. Although I am an "epic ride" sort of guy; disappearing on the road for hours at a time, just b... Being Creative with a Gun to Your Head https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/5549/being-creative-with-a-gun-to-your-head Wed, 20 Jun 2012 15:47:40 GMT Marketing leaders, like other shared services departments, are inundated with work requests on a daily basis. Having been a contributor and led marketing projects for many years, I can relate to the almost constant barrage of conflicting priorities and demands that are often placed on small teams an...