Sat, 25 Jun 2022 19:16:34 GMT The Money Files https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blogs/256120/the-money-files A blog that looks at all aspects of project and program finances from budgets, estimating and accounting to getting a pay rise and managing contracts. Written by Elizabeth Harrin from GirlsGuideToPM.com. The Psychology of Estimating https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/71791/the-psychology-of-estimating Tue, 21 Jun 2022 08:00:00 GMT James Lea, founder of Project Science, spoke at EVA 26 earlier this year. He talked about the psychology of estimating. “People,” he said, “are just as important as the techniques and data.” He went on: “Plans and estimates are built by and used by people. Psychology... 3 Skills Areas To Help Your Team With https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/71790/3-skills-areas-to-help-your-team-with Tue, 14 Jun 2022 08:00:00 GMT These days, project teams are expected to do so many different things, from deep dive root cause analysis to making sure that projects align to strategy. As a team, you’re both in the weeds of the project and also trying to communicate the big picture to stakeholders. Let’s face it, i... Closing out a Programme https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/71789/closing-out-a-programme Tue, 07 Jun 2022 08:00:00 GMT Let’s say you have been through your programme and are ready to close it out. There is obviously quite a lot to do, and the finance elements will be part of that. Here’s what to consider when closing out the financial management of a programme, inspired by the Standard for Programme Mana... 3 Ways To Be More Strategic As a Project Manager https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/71764/3-ways-to-be-more-strategic-as-a-project-manager Tue, 17 May 2022 08:00:00 GMT Strategic thinking is one of those skills that gets tossed around as something project managers should have. But how can you be more strategic in a practical way? I’ve been thinking a lot about this recently, and here are 3 things I think you can do as a project manager or leader of a project ... Introducing The Public Sector Advisory Community for Estimating https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/71763/introducing-the-public-sector-advisory-community-for-estimating Tue, 10 May 2022 08:00:00 GMT At the EVA conference in London in March, I had the pleasure of listening to Gary Hill, Co-chair of PsACE, the Public Sector Advisory Community for Estimating. He was talking about the importance of estimating and how the community helps shape the professional estimating done on public sector projec... Setting Up Programme Budget Tracking https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/71762/setting-up-programme-budget-tracking Tue, 03 May 2022 08:00:00 GMT Last month we looked at what goes into a programme financial management plan. One of the components of that document is, of course, the initial budget. You can’t track what you haven’t baselined, so there is an effort involved in making sure that the programme budget is put together in a... Quick Tips for the Testing Phase https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/71452/quick-tips-for-the-testing-phase Tue, 19 Apr 2022 08:00:00 GMT I have lost count of the number of times my project testing phase has been squeezed. When you are up against a deadline, your carefully planned 3-rounds of testing with time for bug fixes and validation suddenly slide out the door. And yet, no one wants to put out a product that hasn’t bee... Programme Management: Planning Your Finances https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/71451/programme-management--planning-your-finances Tue, 12 Apr 2022 08:00:00 GMT Last month I looked at what you need to consider when setting up programme financial management, drawing on The Standard for Program Management, Fourth Edition (2017). Today I wanted to write some more about financial planning at programme level (as we would spell it here in the UK), again,... Types of Project Cost [Video] https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/71450/types-of-project-cost--video- Tue, 05 Apr 2022 08:00:00 GMT Project costs feels like a topic I’ve revisited many times over the course of writing this blog (can you believe I started it in May 2010?) and today I want to use my monthly video to go into the differences between direct and indirect costs and fixed and variable costs. They are terms new pro... 5 Ways to Add Value as a Project Manager https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/71449/5-ways-to-add-value-as-a-project-manager Tue, 22 Mar 2022 08:00:00 GMT You hear it all the time: “We want our project managers to add value.” “How are you adding value to the organisation?” “I want to spend more time on valued-added activities.” But what does adding value actually mean? I’m not a great fan of buzzwords ...