Wed, 22 May 2024 14:23:01 GMT Project Confusion in Transition Management https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blogs/598455/project-confusion-in-transition-management Projects are about transition from one state to a desirably better state. Management is often viewed as a source of confusion. So lets break down the confusion and build up the means for transition to meaningful deliveries. Notes on Reporting Progress (ii) https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/72101/notes-on-reporting-progress--ii- Sat, 24 Sep 2022 06:23:20 GMT These short notes are expanded from the previous blog article. The project progress report may present concise information such as –  % Completion supplied from a project management tool Accomplishments & Plans moving forward to the next reporting period. Risks ... User Acceptance Tests (documentation) https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/73052/user-acceptance-tests--documentation- Tue, 20 Sep 2022 11:09:45 GMT This article continues from my notes on acceptance testing in my region. The acceptance report or UAT Report as is typically known, is outlined here — A UAT Report may be progressive such that it presents the summary of acceptance tests that are in progress at any time a repo... Start Right https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/71693/start-right Tue, 10 May 2022 05:57:01 GMT A project manager confided she was distressed by complaints from her project teammates and customers; and being bogged down with increasing workloads. Her peers complained about how people on the project relate to one another, and customers throwing tantrums at her and the team without regards for c... Documents Supplied for Post-HOTO https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/58726/documents-supplied-for-post-hoto Sun, 01 May 2022 15:49:58 GMT The contract may require the project team to deliver the following, which could be the final documents or mere guidelines for the taking-over team to expand or improve upon. These are typical: Security Management Plan (SMP) – presents all aspects of security i.e. cyber and physical,... Notes on Documenting Acceptance Tests https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/72074/notes-on-documenting-acceptance-tests Mon, 25 Apr 2022 08:36:39 GMT This blog extends my previous notes on what may constitute a document for acceptance tests. The points are brief, and may not reflect what is practiced in your region or project. Typical information required: Indicate the rational for each test case or that for the test suite... Notes on Handling Over & Taking Over https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/72075/notes-on-handling-over---taking-over Fri, 22 Apr 2022 03:10:34 GMT The Handover and Takeover process (HOTO as is known affectionately in my circles) i.e. handling-over and taking-over of works affects all of us. These are notes on HOTO for my team newbies :-P HOTO happens when: Someone substitutes a team member. This include when a project manager takes ov... Notes on Reporting Progress https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/71125/notes-on-reporting-progress Mon, 18 Apr 2022 08:46:35 GMT No matter how we hard we try to keep information short and simple, there is still the minimal bits of information we should capture for keepsake. Here are some brief notes on reporting on progress - your approach likely, will be different. The progress report would comprise minimally, the followi... My Activity Is Delayed https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/71754/my-activity-is-delayed Wed, 13 Apr 2022 09:08:49 GMT There are two scenarios which can get us caught unawares when a project task or activity is delayed. It is either ① we failed to manage and monitor the activity, or ② there isn’t one or an adequate risk response plan for that activity. Taking over an activity that is delayed is to fi... User Acceptance Tests (documentation issues) https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/71124/user-acceptance-tests--documentation-issues- Mon, 11 Apr 2022 05:08:13 GMT This article continues from my notes on acceptance testing in my region. A broad view on documenting acceptance tests. There are different ways to manage documents when testing for compliance to contracted terms (specifically with reference to the RTM). Given that at the end of the project, there... Engaging Resources (a brainstorming activity) https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/71692/engaging-resources--a-brainstorming-activity- Fri, 08 Apr 2022 09:01:23 GMT This article are notes from a short short half-hour exercise in brainstorming. Problem Statement Accredited volunteers of a uniformed neighborhood watch scheme are mandated and committed to serve 2 hours monthly, on patrols scheduled weekly. Participation of volunteers have...