Sat, 01 Apr 2023 14:33:57 GMT Helping Project Managers to Help Themselves https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blogs/628390/helping-project-managers-to-help-themselves I'm all about Building Thriving Leaders™ This blog is based on over 35 years of project management and leadership successes and failures. Get practical, concise nuggets on both hard and soft skills to help you deliver projects successfully with minimal friction. I Just Wanna Be a PM! https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/73069/i-just-wanna-be-a-pm- Mon, 26 Sep 2022 04:00:00 GMT The Scenario:  Adam, an individual contributor, just finished project-managing another successful project at his company, Conset. After the project ship party, Adam’s manager asked him to take on a people-leadership role. Adam was very reluctant to take on a people-leadership r... The Straight A's of Intentional Leadership https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/73029/the-straight-a-s-of-intentional-leadership Mon, 19 Sep 2022 04:00:00 GMT The Scenario:  Vera and Tam have just left their manager Walt’s office. “Did you get what Walt wants us to do?” Vera asked. “Nope, as usual. We must have asked him five times to explain what he wanted and why it was important. Just got word salad. Again.”... Ten Ways to Grow your Followers into Leaders https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/72760/ten-ways-to-grow-your-followers-into-leaders Thu, 18 Aug 2022 04:00:00 GMT The Scenario:  Frank and his new boss Phil are discussing an upcoming major project that Ann, the CEO, has tagged Phil to own. “Frank, we need to talk about Apollo. Ann is very focused on its delivery and has specifically asked me to be the project sponsor. “OK,” Fr... Ten Points to be a Better Up and Out Influencer https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/72761/ten-points-to-be-a-better-up-and-out-influencer- Thu, 11 Aug 2022 04:00:00 GMT The Scenario:  Alberto has just been hired to head up the program management office for Aspiron Group. Alberto prepares a 30-minute presentation to replace the organization’s status reporting system for his vice president, Irene. Alberto and Irene will be meeting each other for ... Giving Back to the Next Generation of Leaders https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/72759/giving-back-to-the-next-generation-of-leaders Thu, 28 Jul 2022 04:00:00 GMT The Scenario:  Miguel and Carol, two executives who retired from MilanCo last year, are having coffee. “Miguel, what have you been doing with your time since MilanCo?” Carol asked. “Oh, get up, watch the news, play a little golf, run some errands. How ‘bout yo... Intentional Decision Making https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/72651/intentional-decision-making Fri, 22 Jul 2022 12:00:00 GMT The Scenario:  Esther walked into the conference room and saw Grace sitting there, head in hands. “What’s wrong, Grace?” “It’s Paul, he still hasn’t decided on authorizing me to hire SysCon. He owed me a decision last week and now we’re going ... Having the Courage to Call Out Balderdash https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/72649/-having-the-courage-to-call-out-balderdash- Fri, 15 Jul 2022 12:00:00 GMT The Scenario:  Sue and Tran are talking after leaving Rob’s team meeting. “Can you believe what Jim just got away with?” Sue asks. “I know, Rob must be blind. Didn’t even question it.” “Same thing happened last week when Pete presented that... Intentional Trust https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/72593/intentional-trust Fri, 08 Jul 2022 12:00:00 GMT The Scenario:  Sean, a new leader of a small team of experienced project managers, shows up for his weekly 1:1 with his manager, Annette. “Sean, you look really tired.” “Yeah, a late night.” “Why?” “I was working on the Artemis project p... Genuinely and Humbly Seeking Wisdom https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/72468/genuinely-and-humbly-seeking-wisdom Fri, 01 Jul 2022 12:00:00 GMT The Scenario:  Frank has just been promoted to project manager. Frank had worked under several project managers and is determined to show others what a good project manager is all about. Iris is a peer project manager with many years of experience managing very complex projects. F... Why Am I Left out of Critical Conversations? https://www.ProjectManagement.com/blog-post/72454/why-am-i-left-out-of-critical-conversations-- Fri, 24 Jun 2022 12:00:00 GMT The Scenario:  Cary is a program manager at a large consumer products company. Cary has been tasked by his management to drive cost and schedule completion for a critical initiative. The critical initiative leadership team includes representatives from product management and softwar...