Project Management Central

Please login or join to subscribe to this thread

Topics: Agile, IT Project Management, Schedule Management
Code Review. Why and when should it be done?
Network:726



I almost always find development teams perform code reviews.
Time is almost always allotted to do this task but unless there are issues, the decision is almost always "to do more tests, release and publish".
I understand that companies and development teams have coding standards etc.to comply with and the logic has to be checked to minimise potential bugs etc., but should this always be done?
Is the step, potentially, a waste?
Why and when should it be done to ensure waste in the process is minimized?
Sort By:
Page: 1 2 next>
Network:2037



In my opinion code review is a must, not a waste., we can not only maintain readability, following best practices, prevent functional bugs, but also detect security flaws, and this should be done in build phase, could be through tools, through peer review or by pair programming
...
1 reply by Joseph Pangan
Apr 16, 2019 4:47 AM
Joseph Pangan
...
...detect security flaws!

Thanks Priya!
Network:726



Apr 16, 2019 3:31 AM
Replying to Priya Patra
...
In my opinion code review is a must, not a waste., we can not only maintain readability, following best practices, prevent functional bugs, but also detect security flaws, and this should be done in build phase, could be through tools, through peer review or by pair programming
...detect security flaws!

Thanks Priya!
Network:2251



Definitely some formal process of quality and standards review, far from waste. These also provide inherent coaching opportunities to foster internal growth.
...
1 reply by Joseph Pangan
Apr 16, 2019 10:31 PM
Joseph Pangan
...
- These also provide inherent coaching opportunities to foster internal growth.

I agree! Thanks Andrew!
Network:19



Peer review is always good.. It helps to unify the coding methodology.. detect issues looking from a different pair of eyes.. also improves the confidence level of the team.
...
1 reply by Joseph Pangan
Apr 16, 2019 10:32 PM
Joseph Pangan
...
- also improves the confidence level of the team.

Thanks Abhilash!
Network:20298



Well, answering this question is a little bit tricky. this task may or may not be a waste. It has to do with your strategy, plan, etc.
...
1 reply by Joseph Pangan
Apr 16, 2019 10:37 PM
Joseph Pangan
...
Thanks Abolfazl.
Network:1123



Peer review should be essential to ensure good and consistent quality of the deliverables. It enables adherence to established standard practices, proofreading of contents and most importantly, the verification of approach pursued in the deliverable.
...
1 reply by Joseph Pangan
Apr 16, 2019 10:36 PM
Joseph Pangan
...
Thanks Ashok for the feedback.
Network:1821



This is a matter of quality assurance. Is not a wasted at all, mainly if you are working into Agile based environments.This is not a new practice. This is an old practice. The problem is into the attitude of people that are in charge to conduct the review. Is like when you face an audit process. Most of the auditors think that they must behave as police woman/officer.
...
1 reply by Joseph Pangan
Apr 16, 2019 10:36 PM
Joseph Pangan
...
-Quality assurance.

Thanks Sergio.
Network:253



Joseph,
Extreme Programming (XP) takes code reviews one step further, by teaming developers together in a practice called "pair programming."

A common managerial criticism of this practice is that it reduces productivity. But this criticism is based on a flawed assumption that writing software is nothing more than pounding keyboards. If this were true, we'd hire developers based on typing speed. In reality, though, development teams are not held back by typing speed, but by the flow of ideas. Pair programming accelerates software development by allowing programmers to solve problems together.

Although this is a defining practice of XP, there's a fundamental XP principle which states we must be willing to let go of practices that are no longer useful. From that aspect, if you find that code reviews are a waste, then you should be willing to change the way you're operating. I would suggest, however, that before your team simply abandons code review, you first ask why code reviews are not effective.
...
1 reply by Joseph Pangan
Apr 16, 2019 10:35 PM
Joseph Pangan
...
- Extreme Programming (XP) takes code reviews one step further, by teaming developers together in a practice called "pair programming."

Thanks Wade!
Network:726



Apr 16, 2019 6:45 AM
Replying to Andrew Craig
...
Definitely some formal process of quality and standards review, far from waste. These also provide inherent coaching opportunities to foster internal growth.
- These also provide inherent coaching opportunities to foster internal growth.

I agree! Thanks Andrew!
Network:726



Apr 16, 2019 7:02 AM
Replying to Abhilash Krishnan
...
Peer review is always good.. It helps to unify the coding methodology.. detect issues looking from a different pair of eyes.. also improves the confidence level of the team.
- also improves the confidence level of the team.

Thanks Abhilash!
Page: 1 2 next>  

Please login or join to reply

Content ID:
ADVERTISEMENTS

"I never forget a face, but in your case I'll make an exception."

- Groucho Marx

ADVERTISEMENT

Sponsors