Project Management Central

Please login or join to subscribe to this thread
Best and least expensive way to become Six Sigma Certified?

I'm new to the whole six sigma thing, but have researched quite a few providers/certifying agencies and I'm still slightly confused.

Should I start with the Green Belt? What counts as a project for Black Belt?

What agency is best to certify through? What's also the cheapest route to do so? Any advice from those who have gone through it would be appreciated.
Thanks
Sort By:

Michael -

Most folks would get certified via their company's internal LSS programs but if you don't have that option, I'd suggest ASQ.

I would definitely recommend starting with a GB to ensure you "learn the ropes" fully before working on a BB project and presenting it...

Kiron

There are a number of options available, and the choice really depends on why you want to pursue a lean six sigma (LSS) certification. Unfortunately,"best" and "least expensive" are on two opposite sides of the spectrum.
The top three certifying agencies are ASQ, IASSC and Villanovau. The process basically involves filling an application form listing a few projects where you have performed actions in line with the BOK, studying for the test and then writing the test. The process is similar to PMP.

Many organizations have in-house certification programs; I cannot comment on the market value or effectiveness of all but certain organizations such as Toyota and GE do stand out.

You will also see green/ black belt certification providers such as goleansixsigma and Udemy which offer online certifications at a much lower cost.

It really depends on your motive. If you just want to learn about LSS concepts you probably don't need a certification at all. LMK if you have any further questions.

/sd